Abstract submission deadline: September 6th, 2019. September 19th,2019

Essay submission deadline: September 30th, 2019 October 6th,2019

Confirmation of abstract acceptance: September 27th, 2019. October 3rd,2019


Yoon-seong Lee, MD

Director, Korea Health Personnel Licensing Examination Institute, Seoul, Korea


Dr. Yoon-seong Lee is Director of Korea Health Personnel Licensing Examination Institute (KHPLEI), which manages national examinations for license or certificate of 26 kinds of health personnel in Korea.

A pathologists and medical educator, Dr. Lee has a variety of experiences on medical education and medical sciences. He has served as the member and president of Committee for Licensing Examination for MD since 1994. He took great effort for the establishment of Skill Examination for MD Licensing Examination in Korea, 2009. As well as he was the chair of the board committee of Korean Institute of Medical Education and Evaluation (KIMEE), which is the main organization of the accreditation of medical schools, Otherwise, he was the president of Korean Society of Medical Education (KSME), and the president of Korean Academy of Medical Sciences (KAMS) with more than 160 academic societies of medical and related sciences.

Dr. Lee got his MD degree from Seoul National University, and was a professor of forensic medicine, Sep. 1986 – Feb. 2018. 

Prof. Pongsak Wannakrairot

Director of Institute for Medical Education Accreditation (IMEAc)

Senior Advisor to the Laboratory Accreditation Committee (of Royal College of Pathologists of Thailand).


Pongsak Wannakrairot is Professor in Pathology. He finished his medical degree and certified Board of Anatomic Pathologist from Faculty of Medicine, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand. He has served as faculty member in the Department of Pathology, Faculty of Medicine, Chulalongkorn University since 1983. His interests are in the fields of hematopathology, pathology laboratory, laboratory accreditation, medical education and quality accreditation. During his career, apart from working as hematopathologist, he also encourages general pathologists to be able to deal with lymphoma and leukemia specimens. Together with the group of Thai hematopathologists under his leadership, he carried out many bone marrow and lymphoma workshops. In addition to hematopathology, he also involves in laboratory accreditation. He served as chairman of Laboratory Accreditation Committee of Royal College of Pathologists for many years.

He has also been interested in education. He is the one who introduced the use of virtual microscopy in learning pathology in Thailand. He conducted faculty development program for Chulalongkorn University for almost 10 years. In collaboration with members of Consortium of Thai Medical Schools, he has engaged in medical education accreditation employing international standards (WFME Global Standards). He served as Chairman of Department of Pathology for 8 years and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at the Faculty of Medicine, Chulalongkorn University, Ex-Director of Medical Education Unit, Ex-Director of WHO Collaborating Center for Medical Education, South East Asia Region, Ex-President of Royal College of Pathologists of Thailand, Ex-President of International Academy of Pathology, Thailand Division and Ex-President of Asia Pacific Society for Molecular Immunohistology. He is now serving as Director of Institute for Medical Education Accreditation (IMEAc) and Senior Advisor to the Laboratory Accreditation Committee (of Royal College of Pathologists of Thailand).

Judith F. Karshmer, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN

Judith Karshmer is dean and professor of Arizona State University’s Edson College of Nursing and Health Innovation. She came to ASU in 2018 from the School of Nursing and Health Professions at the University of San Francisco, where she is Dean Emerita.


At ASU, Karshmer’s focus is on expanding the global footprint of the college through academic practice partnerships that promote the college’s research agenda while embedding students and faculty in the community in meaningful ways, an approach she pioneered at USF. She is particularly committed to interprofessional education and has worked to establish partnerships with University of California-Berkeley, the University of the Pacific schools of pharmacy and dentistry, and Kaiser Permanente Nurse Scholars’ Academy. She has also developed integrated partnership models that allows faculty and students to advance the educational agenda while providing patient services at community clinics, home health, and ambulatory care centers.

Karshmer was instrumental in developing the first doctor of nursing practice program in California and establishing an “evidence-based” education model that challenges students and faculty to think creatively to produce better health solutions and outcomes. Appointed to the San Francisco Health Commission from 2013-2018, Karshmer has extensive experience linking the community and academia and creating meaningful outreach opportunities. She is past president of the board of the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education and was a member of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing Competency-Based Education for Doctoral Prepared APRNs National Task Force. Dean Karshmer is currently serving as a board member for AACN and is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. She was named “Most Influential Women in Business” in the Bay Area and listed on the ‘Forever Influential Honor Roll’ in 2016. She is on the editorial board of the Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services.

Karshmer graduated with her bachelor’s degree from the University of Iowa and pursued her master’s degree in advanced psychiatric nursing at Rutgers University. She studied under Hildegard Peplau, an outspoken proponent of the humane treatment of patients with behavior and personality disorders, who contributed largely to mental health law reform. Karshmer has carried that ethos with her throughout her career as a clinical nurse specialist and educator. In addition to ASU and USF, Karshmer has served as associate dean at the University of South Florida in the College of Nursing and was chief academic officer, professor and department head with the Department of Nursing at New Mexico State University.